Following the Second World War, a new wave of Slavic immigrants began to take advantage of the emerging opportunities in St. Albert. Things were also getting better for the people that had come before the war. Transportation was improving, making it easier for market gardeners and mixed farmers to get into Edmonton to sell their goods. It was also easier to visit the Ukrainian and Polish churches, organizations and businesses in Edmonton.
With the start of the oil boom and improved highways and industry, St. Albert was about to experience major changes. The town annexed new land in 1949 and 1951. In 1956 the province introduced the New Town Act to help communities deal with their rapid growth. Taking advantage of the financing and assistance available, St. Albert was able to expand its amenities, improve utilities and develop new residential areas.
A number of professionals set up shop in St. Albert in the post-war period. Dr. William Cuts (Cutsungavich) arrived in 1945, later serving as the Medical Health Officer. Dr.N. Onischuck, was of Ukrainian descent. He opened his dental practice in 1952. In 1954 he helped to revive the Board of Trade and in 1960 advocated for the use of fluoride in the water. Ukrainian Pharmacist Joseph Maleshko ran a drug store that carried medical and veterinary supplies. Anna Sebzda worked as an assistant in Mr. Maleshko’s store when she was in high school. The first full-time, paid fire chief in town was also Ukrainian. His name was Fred Teterenko.